What is Considered Rape in Louisiana?
Louisiana criminalizes the act of having sex with another person, without that person’s consent.
There are different classifications of rape and other statutes that define and criminalize other forms of unwanted sexual contact. What distinguishes the different forms of rape the age of the victim and whether physical force or threats or weapons were used to coerce the victim.
Louisiana RS 14:41 — Defines Rape as follows:
SUBPART C. RAPE
A. Rape is the act of anal, oral, or vaginal sexual intercourse with a male or female person committed without the person’s lawful consent.
B. Emission is not necessary, and any sexual penetration, when the rape involves vaginal or anal intercourse, however slight, is sufficient to complete the crime.
C. For purposes of this Subpart, “oral sexual intercourse” means the intentional engaging in any of the following acts with another person:
(1) The touching of the anus or genitals of the victim by the offender using the mouth or tongue of the offender.
(2) The touching of the anus or genitals of the offender by the victim using the mouth or tongue of the victim.
There are three basis for this charge:
FIRST: The victim is intoxicated and/or otherwise incapable of resisting or is not capable of understanding the nature of her actions and the defendant knew he or she was taking advantage of a person in such a condition.
SECOND: If the victim is incapable of consenting due to having mental health problems, which have produced an unsound mind.
THIRD: If the defendant tricked the victim into thinking that the two were married.
The sentence for simple rape is up to 25 years in prison.
Force or threats are used against the victim and are such that the victim believes that resisting is pointless or
The defendant purposefully “slipped” the victim a drug that impaired and/or disabled them mentally or physically.
Sentence for forcible rape is 5 to 40 years in prison with a mandatory minimum of two years in prison which shall be served prior to probation or other suspension of sentence.
- Aggravated rape in Louisiana occurs under a certain aggravating circumstances which include:
- A victim who is 65 or more or 13 or less.
- The victim resisted to the utmost.
- Threats to the victim of imminent and serious bodily injury and the victim reasonably believed that the threats would be carried out.
- The defendant was armed with a dangerous weapon at the time the rape occurred.
- When the victim is under 13, the defendant may not use as a defense the fact that the victim looked older than her age. In Louisiana the age the victim “seemed” is not a defense.
Two or more persons actively engaging in the rape is considered an aggravating circumstance, particularly when the victim had a physical or mental infirmity that made resistance impossible.
For further information you may read more using the link provided below. Louisiana rape statutes start at RS 14:41. There are also other “sexual battery” statutes which apply to other sex crimes.
We Urge to Seek Legal Representation Immediately
If you are suspected in or charged with a crime in Louisiana that involves the possibility of rape, you must contact a local criminal defense attorney right away. Make no mistake; these are extremely serious charges with grave consequences ahead if you do not take quick action. Seek legal counsel right away. A skillful attorney can help you navigate the criminal justice system and obtain the best possible outcome in your case.
We at The Law Firm of Regan & Sandhu, P. L.C. can offer you the guidance you need during these difficult times. Our Team of experienced attorneys under the leadership of Attorney Martin E. Regan, Jr. can help you now. Call us.
The Legal Team at Regan & Sandhu, P.L.C. offers the client knowledge, skill and experience.
The Information contained herein is not intended to be legal advice. On the contrary, it is simply an effort to explain the topic in general terms. If you or a loved one is facing criminal charges, call us. We are here to help.