2014 Changes to Vehicular Laws In Louisiana.
As of August 1, 2014, Louisiana motorists will have to be mindful of several new laws and amendments passed during the 2014 Louisiana Legislative Session.
The changes will affect motorists throughout the state. Louisiana State Troopers would like to inform drivers of several changes that both drivers and passengers should be aware of while operating a vehicle on Louisiana’s roadways.
Listed below you will find but a few of the changes affecting motorists. Troopers strongly advice citizens to familiarize themselves with all new laws, updates, and amendments coming into effect this year.
1. School Zone Cell Phone Ban:
Motorists will be banned from using any type of hand held wireless communications device while traveling through schools zones during posted hours. The law includes:
- Cellular/wireless device engaged in a voice call
- Reading, or
- Posting to a social network site and/or,
- Writing, sending, or reading a text-based communication
The school zone cell phone ban does not apply if the device is being used to report an emergency, is being used in a hands-free manner, or while the vehicle is lawfully parked.
- First violation of the school zone ban the fine is $175.
- Subsequent violations can be up to $500.
- If a crash occurs during the time of the violation, fines can be increased.
2. LOUISIANA Litter Law Updates:
Amendments to the Louisiana Litter Law now specifically include cigarettes
and cigarette butts to the official definition of litter.
- First offense is increased to $300 with 8 hours of community service in a litter abatement program.
- Second offense to $700 with 16 hours of litter abatement.
- Third and subsequent offense to $1500 with 80 hours of service in a litter abatement program.
3. Six Year Driver’s License Renewal:
The renewal period for Louisiana driver’s licenses has been extended from four years to six years (not in effect until July 1, 2015.)
- The new license will have a fee increase to cover the extension of the renewal period.
- Fee increases will vary by class of license, area of residence, and age of license applicant.
4. Inspection Exemptions for Certain Trailers:
New amendments to Louisiana Inspection Sticker requirements exempt single axle two-wheeled trailers and boat trailers from state inspection requirements and the obligation to bear a valid safety inspection certificate/sticker.
While exempted from the inspection process, the trailers must still possess the required safety equipment to operate on Louisiana roadways.
5. Vehicle Inspections Can be Conducted in Rain:
Changes to Louisiana inspection sticker law eliminate an old requirement that prohibited vehicle inspections stations from inspecting vehicles on rainy days.
This amendment allows vehicles to be inspected when it is raining if the conditions are safe and the vehicle can accurately be checked.
6. Increased Penalties for Fatigued Drivers in Fatal Crashes:
Louisiana motorists who fail to maintain control of their vehicle because they have fallen asleep and directly or proximately cause the death of another, face increased penalties under Louisiana’s Careless Operation law.
In addition to the Careless Operation penalties, motorists involved in a fatality crash may also be charged with Negligent Homicide.
7. Vehicular Homicide classified as a Crime of Violence:
The act of Vehicular Homicide (causing the death of a person due to a crash where the driver was impaired) will now be classified as a crime of violence when the offender’s blood alcohol concentration exceeds 0.20 grams percent.
This change to the classification allows for increased penalties for impaired drivers involved in fatality crashes.
If you or a loved has been charged with any violations of Louisiana Vehicular laws call us at (504) 522.7260.